On a journey of discovery to historical sites? Download the TracesOfWar app directly on Google Play or the Apple App Store.

The Most Honourable Order of the Bath

The Most Honourable Order of the Bath was established by King George I in 1725. As far back as the 10th century, bathing was regarded as a purification ritual in a religious context associated with knighthood, hence the name of the Order.
The badge of the Order depicts three crowns with the Order's motto: "Tria juncto in uno" (Three joined in one) as well as the Welsh motto: "Ich dien" (I serve) and the emblems of England, Scotland and Ireland, respectively the rose, the thistle and the shamrock. The ribbon is 1.25" wide and coloured bright red.
The Order can be awarded to both men and women for military service or exemplary civil merit. In 1815, three classes of Knights were instituted, corresponding civilian classes were added in 1847.
The three classes are:
Knight/Dame Grand Cross GCB
Knight/Dame Commander KCB/DCB respectively and
Companion CB