TracesOfWar needs your help! Every euro, pound or dollar you contribute greatly supports the continuation of this website. Go to and donate!

Indonesia (1945-present, Republic

On August 17th, 1945, Soekarno and Hatta declared the Dutch-East Indies independent and Soekarno became the first President of the Republic Indonesia. The Netherlands tried to prevent this by means of so called Politional actions. Under the pression of the international community, the Netherlands finally excepted indonesian independence in December 1949 with the exception of Irian Jaya. A long time the Dutch only excepted the date of December 27th, 1949 as independence date. Irina Jaya was finally handed over to Indonesia under the pressure of the United Nations in 1963.