TracesOfWar needs your help! We miss photos of important sights in the Netherlands, Belgium, France and Germany. Submit your photos to and it will be published!

Concentration Camp Auschwitz I

The Auschwitz complex consists of three parts: Auschwitz I - the concentration camp known for the lurid text above the entrance: ARBEIT MACHT FREI [/ i], the second part Auschwitz II (Birkenau) [/ towid ] - the extermination camp and the third part (Monowitz) for the sequel.

For current visiting hours, please visit the website of the museum.

Do you have more information about this location? Inform us!


  • Text: Lars van Lier & Auschwitz-museum
  • Photos: Marco Hilgers (1, 5), Lennard Bolijn (2, 3, 4)

Related books