The warehouse complex on the Ringvaart canal, south of Sloten and near the Nieuwe Meer lake, was built in the early 20th century on former fort grounds. Between 1918 and 1920, several storage buildings for weapons, ammunition, and cartridges intended for mobilization were constructed here. Later, a barracks for police troops and various additional warehouses followed.
During the occupation, the German occupiers used the site for unknown storage. After the war, damaged buildings were partially demolished, and household goods were removed by Canadian troops. In the 1940s and 1950s, the site served as a warehouse for technical goods, tools, and machinery. The Royal Netherlands Marechaussee temporarily based the Schiphol Brigade here.
In 1986, the site was considered for guided weapons, but in 1988 it was squatted and later transferred to its occupants. Since then, it has been owned by the Nieuw en Meer Foundation and houses arts and crafts studios.
Little remains of the original surroundings. The Hembrug bridge disappeared, Rijksweg 4 was rerouted, and the Riekerpolder was incorporated into the Nieuwe Meer lake. The complex is not a listed building, but is unique.
Do you have more information about this location? Inform us!