On a journey of discovery to historical sites? Download the TracesOfWar app directly on Google Play or the Apple App Store.

Order of Merit

The Order of Merit was instituted by King Edward VII in 1902 to reward eminent service in the armed forces or distinguished achievements in science or art and is limited to 24 persons. The Order can be conferred to both military and civilian persons, male or female and foreigners are designated as "honorary members" The first woman to receive the Order was Florence Nightingale.
The badge portrays a crown with the inscription: "For Merit". The ribbon is 2" wide with two vertical stripes, each 1" wide and coloured blue and crimson.
An Indian Order of Merit was established in 1837 but this has since been abolished.

Grid List
Mountbatten, Philip, Duke of Edinburgh* June 10th, 1921
April 9th, 2021

MacDonald, Malcolm John* August 17th, 1901
January 11th, 1981

Macmillan, Maurice Harold, 1st Earl of Stockton* February 10th, 1894
December 29th, 1986